What Only We Know – Book Tour

I received an eARC of What Only We Know on Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This post is part of the publication blog tour.

What Only We Know Synopsis

A door slammed and the unmistakable sound of boots came crashing up the hall. Liese held her little daughter’s hand so tightly, the tiny fingers had turned purple. The SS officer’s hand was at Liese’s throat before she saw him move. ‘I can kill you easily, then I can kill your daughter.’ He relaxed his grip a little. ‘Or perhaps I could kill her first?’

England, forty years later. When Karen Cartwright is unexpectedly called home to nurse her ailing father, she goes with a heavy heart. The house she grew up in feels haunted by the memory of her father’s closely guarded secrets about her beautiful dressmaker mother Elizabeth’s tragic suicide years before.

As she packs up the house, Karen discovers an old photograph and a stranger’s tattered love letter to her mother postmarked from Germany after the war.

During her life, Karen struggled to understand her shy, fearful mother, but now she is realising there was so much more to Elizabeth than she knew. For one thing, her name wasn’t even Elizabeth, and her harrowing story begins long before Karen was born.

It’s 1941 in Berlin, and a young woman called Liese is being forced to wear a yellow star…

A beautiful and gripping wartime story about family secrets and impossible choices in the face of terrible hardship. Perfect for fans of The Tattooist of AuschwitzWe Were the Lucky Ones and The Alice Network.

Author Bio

Catherine Hokin is a Glasgow-based author writing both long and short fiction. Her short stories have been placed in competition (including first prize in the 2019 Fiction 500 Short Story Competition) and published by iScot, Writers Forum and Myslexia. She blogs on the 22nd of each month as part of The History Girls collective.

My Review

I have read a lot of historical fiction as it’s one of my favourites genres and What Only We Know definitely is up there! It is set across the 1970s and WW2. It follows the stories of 1970s Karen, a teen and adult across the book as she discovers more about her mother’s tragic death. After a school trip to Berlin, she is left with more questions than answers. Her strained relationship with her father pushes her into returning to Berlin during another historically significant time and this time, she isn’t leaving with answers.
I found Karen to be unlikeable and childish but I could understand her persistence to discover more about her mother’s early life.
Overall, a strong 4 stars!
Bex

Bex

If you want me to review your book: please email bexcapades@outlook.com

My Amazon Wishlist is here.

My Ko-fi is here.

Follow me on Twitter, Goodreads, Pinterest.

|| Book Reviews ||

Post Author: bexcapades

Bookish person trying to get through this crazy thing called life.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *