The Orphan Sisters: NetGalley Book Review

I received this digital ARC (Advanced Reader Copy) through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you Bookouture for choosing me.

the orphan sisters cover

The Orphan Sisters Synopsis

A heartbreaking, unputdownable and utterly unforgettable story of two young sisters cruelly abandoned by their mother at an orphanage. Fans of Wives of War, Lisa Wingate and Diney Costeloe will lose their hearts to this stunning World War Two novel.

1929: Four-year-old Etty and eight-year-old Dorothy are abandoned at Blakely Hall orphanage by their mother, never to see her again. With no other family to speak of, the sisters worship their beloved mam – confused and heartbroken to be deserted by her when they need her the most.

1940: Etty and Dorothy are finally released from the confines of Blakely Hall – but their freedom comes when the country is in the grip of World War Two and its terrors. Amidst a devastating backdrop of screaming air-raid sirens and cold nights huddled in shelters, the sisters are desperate to put their broken childhoods behind them.

But trouble lies ahead. Dorothy must bid goodbye to her beloved husband when he’s sent to war and Etty must nurse a broken heart as she falls in love with the one man she can never be with.

Etty and Dorothy survived the orphanage with the help of one another and neither sister can forget the awful betrayal of their mother, which has haunted them their whole lives. But when a shocking secret about their painful childhood comes to light, will the sisters ever be the same again?

The orphan sisters ebook

 

The Orphan Sisters Book Details

Author: Shirley Dickson

Publication Date: 22nd January 2019

Number of Pages: 371

Publisher: Bookouture

Genre: Historical Fiction, Women’s Fiction

First Chapter Impressions

Prologue: 1945. This created intrigue after reading the synopsis and I was eager to read on to see just what the girls would live through during the war.

My Review

The book mainly focuses on Etty’s (the younger sister) perspective though it does delve into the thoughts of the other characters. It is a beautifully sad story of family, betrayal heartbreak and the prevailing support that the right people can have. The two sisters mean everything to each other and I enjoyed watching them grow and move forwards from their tragic childhood and adolescence.

There were many moments of heartbreak though none felt forced. It is beautifully written and ready to capture the reader’s heart. It provided a lot of realism and truth at how it felt during the air-raids and you become emotionally invested in all of the characters, not just the main ones.

Recommendations & Where to Find It

I would recommend this book to any historical fiction fans and those who don’t mind having a story that makes them cry. It was beautiful.

You can preorder The Orphan Sisters here. It will be released on 22nd January 2019.

Bex

The orphan sisters arc review

Please follow and like us:

Post Author: bexcapades

I am a 22 year old teacher from the UK who is currently travelling around Australia on a Working Holiday Visa year.

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked *